Sigma Theta Tau

Gamma Alpha Chapter News

Volume 31 Issue 7

"Championing Nursing Excellence"

June 2013

37th Annual Induction Ceremony 2013

On Wednesday, June 12, 2013 seventy-two qualifying candidates were inducted into the Gamma Alpha Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. The ceremony was held in the Chan Auditorium on the campus of the Loma Linda Elementary School from 4:30-5:45 PM. Along with the induction of new members, awards were presented and new officers installed.

Induction Program (continued)



(Left) Keynote address given by Judith Storfjell PhD RN FAAN and was entitled, "Standing on the Shoulders of Those Who Came Before." Our violin soloist was Meggie Evans whose special music numbers were "Adoration" by Borowski, and "Saint d'amour" by Elgar.

AWARDS OF DISTINCTION—FRIEND OF NURSING



Presented to Dr. Kaled Bahjri, for exceptional dedication to students and faculty at Loma Linda University School of Nursing in the teaching of statistics, epidemiology and statistical consultation for research. His diligence and patience are renown at the school. He has always been very flexible to student needs in teaching classes, even when it meant a significant increase in his workload. He is truly a collaborative colleague!



EXCELLENCE IN MENTORING Awarded to Joanna Shedd MS RN



RESEARCH GRANT \$1000

Awarded to Dr. Leli Pedro for her research on the needs of rural, long-term breast cancer survivors. Accepting the award for Dr. Pedro, is her mentor, Dr. Gerri Padilla.





SCHOLARSHIP AWARDEES



Left, Glendy Chen RN MS received \$1000 towards her studies.

Right, Christine Tedjasukmana, undergraduate senior received \$1000.

Awardees were selected via a competitive application process.



Let the Ceremony Begin!



2013 Inductees

Ariel Aguirre

Michelle Antonio

Maria Boeing

Karin Bryner

Keiko Cresante

Wesley Easter

Amy Garcia

Vanessa Jones

Rhonda Le Blanc

Sandy Le

Lauren Martinez

Briana Maynor

Katherine O'Donnell-Rose

Kyle Rodgers

Lynette Sandiford

Nicholas Villegas

Monique Yoeliko

Joycelyn Ampon

Kaitlyn Bailey

Katherine Bon

Grace Chung

Elsie Crowinshield

Leah Fawcett

Emely Garcia

Brittany Jordan

Tiffany aw

Mana Manoukian

Michelle Matsua

Raeann Needham

Amenaghawon Ogiamien

Lorena Saavedra

Jamie Lynn Scotti

Stephanie Weisz

Aileen Cayanan

Katherine Angeles

Chelsea Bartlett

Sasha Bothe

Jessica Contreras

Bener Joseph Deompoc

Lilly Fong

Noemi Jimenez

Tamara Krulisky

Elizabeth Lawson

Tiffany Lynn Marshall

Jacob Maxwell

Brittany O'Connell

Erica Pablo

Krystle Sanchez

Irene Tedjasukmana

Michael Yeap

Ashley Elson-Hurdle Music Vernola

Eighteen students participating in our Off-Campus Master's degree program were inducted in absentia, but will be recognized during completion ceremonies to be held at the end of July, 2013 in Thailand.

Adwoa Ansah-Adu, Mwatiza Banda, Judith Belete, Joe Rey Dayahan, Gilden Mae Galang, Gail Biebel, Meng Gui, Xiao Jiang, Veraliza Kirilov, Cynthia Loebig, Advella Meikle, Glemvil Mopera, Wyben Nellas, Chee-Chin Ng, Joyalene Ng, Joyosthie Orbe, Idauli Simbolon, Xiao Sun, Ardie Tayongtong, SreyPeov Tun,



OUR FUTURE LEADERS AND SCHOLARS!













"Like Us" on Facebook—Search for STTI Gamma Alpha Chapter

Upcoming Events

Eighteenth Joint Southern California Chapters Sigma Theta Tau International

Nursing Odyssey Conference 2013

October 31 & November 1, 2013

Handlery Hotel Mission Valley, San Diego, California

42nd STTI BIENNIUM CONVENTION

November 16-20, 2013 Indianapolis, Indiana



2013-2014 Gamma Alpha Board Members

PRESIDENT

Dorothy Forde

PRESIDENT ELECT

Carolyn Davidson

VICE PRESIDENT

AsmaTaha

VICE PRESIDENT ELECT

Vacant

SECRETARY

Deborah Monson

TREASURER

Jan Nick

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Kathie Ingram, Lana Kanacki, Diana VanDerLinden, Michelle Ballou

LEADERSHIP SUCCESSION COMMITTEE

Alycia Bristol, Joanna Shedd, Loreen Wynja

COUNSELOR

Fayette Traux—1st year faculty counselor

Nancy Testerman—2nd year faculty counselor

ARCHIVIST

Eva Miller